About

Uraltransmash Ural Plant of Transport Engineering, a part of Uralvagonzavod Research and Production Corporation, together with Atom Experimental Design Bureau has developed a new

THREE-SECTION LOW FLOOR TRAM R1

This is the first in Russia absolutely low floor tram, unique in our country today.

Chief designer of the project Alexey Maslov describes his approach with the formula

Vehicle + Architecture = Vehitecture

This synthetic term best reflects the new interdisciplinary space of vehicle design and architecture where the concept of R1 was created. .

R1 is a business class for the central districts of cities and towns, and suggests more expensive materials for interior trim and body parts. Comfort and economy class trams will be available to cities with smaller populations.

While creating the R1 concept, the designers followed a special approach to the tram positioning in the urban landscape. Low speed and fixed rail infrastructure make the tram part of the city’s architectural appearance.

THE DESIGN KEYNOTE OF THE NEW R1 LINE WAS THE BLACK URAL SEMI-PRECIOUS STONE IN METAL FRAME, WHOSE MIRROR SURFACE LITERALLY REFLECTS THE CITY, BECOMING ITS INTEGRAL AND HARMONIOUS PART.

Experts from experimental design bureau Atom supervise all the production phases in order to minimize differences of the series from its prototype. Direct collaboration by designers from Atom with engineers and workers from Uraltransmash allowed reducing the difference to 10%.

10%
OF SERIES DIFFERENCE FROM PROTOTYPE

In the world of industrial design, this is the first time such a figure is being achieved since a concept is usually created without taking into account many technical parameters and such concept differs significantly from the final product.

One of the main objectives of the R1 tram is to change residents’ attitudes to the very idea of public transport. R1 will increase the appeal of public transport, highlighting the new power of Russian transport engineering. Considering the different tasks and opportunities of customers, there are plans to introduce trams of several classes. The variability of the trams lies with its various configurations, while the design and engineering quality remains the same. Uralvagonzavod Corporation’s production base also remains unchanged for all the series.

R1 представляет собой бизнес класс для центральных частей крупных и средних городов и предполагает более дорогостоящие материалы отделки салона и частей корпуса. Городам с меньшим населением будут доступны трамваи класса комфорт и эконом.
Gallery

Interior configuration is optional and adaptable to the tasks of a particular route and specifics of urban environment. The high level of comfort and the modern visual solution offered by the tram enable it to meet the needs of a large part of the population, who make daily trips from remote areas to the urban city.

This, in turn, addresses the problem of traffic density suffered by large cities and meets the needs of residents for a modern, eco-friendly and comfortable urban environment.

Combining intelligent engineering with a fundamentally new approach in industrial design, the R1 tram raises the living standards in the megalopolis and sets a new level in public transport across the country.

О проекте

Уральский завод транспортного машиностроения «Уралтрансмаш», входящий в состав научно-производственной корпорации «Уралвагонзавод», совместно с ОКБ «Атом» разработал новый

Трёхсекционный низкопольный трамвай R1

Это первый в России стопроцентно низкопольный трамвай, аналогов которому в нашей стране сегодня не существует.

Главный дизайнер проекта Алексей Маслов описывает свой подход формулой

Vehicle + Architecture = Vehitecture

Этот синтетический термин лучше всего отражает новое междисциплинарное пространство транспортного дизайна и архитектуры, в котором создавалась концепция R1.

R1 представляет собой бизнес-класс для центральных частей крупных и средних городов и предполагает более дорогостоящие материалы отделки салона и частей корпуса. Городам с меньшим населением будут доступны трамваи класса комфорт и эконом.

Создавая концепт R1, дизайнеры руководствовались особым подходом к позиционированию трамвая в городском ландшафте. Невысокая скорость и фиксированная рельсовая инфраструктура делает трамвай частью архитектурного облика города.

Основным лейтмотивом дизайна новой линейки R1 стал чёрный уральский самоцветв металлической оправе, зеркальная поверхность которого в буквальном смысле отражает в себе город, становясь его неотъемлемой и гармоничной частью.

В целях минимизации отличий серии от прототипа специалисты ОКБ «Атом» курируют все этапы производства. Непосредственное сотрудничество дизайнеров с инженерами и рабочими «Уралтрансмаша» позволило сократить отличия до 10%.

10%
отличий серии от прототипа

В мировой практике промышленного дизайна такой показатель достигается впервые, поскольку обычно концепт создаётся без учёта большого количества технических параметров и существенно отличается от конечного продукта.

Одна из основных задач R1 — изменение отношения жителей города к самой идее общественного транспорта. R1 повысит её привлекательность, демонстрируя новые мощности российского транспортного машиностроения. Учитывая разные задачи и возможности заказчиков, планируется введение трамваев нескольких классов. Вариативность линейки обеспечивается за счёт различной комплектации, но не качества дизайна и инжиниринга. Производственная база корпорации «Уралвагонзавод» тоже неизменна для всех серий.

R1 представляет собой бизнес класс для центральных частей крупных и средних городов и предполагает более дорогостоящие материалы отделки салона и частей корпуса. Городам с меньшим населением будут доступны трамваи класса комфорт и эконом.
Фотогалерея

Конфигурация салона опциональна и адаптируема под задачи конкретного маршрута и специфику городской среды. Высокий уровень комфорта и современное визуальное решение позволяют трамваю удовлетворить потребности большой части населения, ежедневно совершающей поездки из отдалённых районов в городской сети.

Это, в свою очередь, решает проблему плотности трафика крупных городов и отвечает запросам жителей на современную, экологичную и удобную городскую среду.

Соединяя в себе принципиально новый подход в промышленном дизайне и интеллектуальный инжиниринг, трамвай R1 повышает стандарты жизни в мегаполисе и задаёт новый уровень городского транспорта во всей стране.